Click to Home
Go To Search
Mayor & City Council

Council Member Laurie Davies
Laurie Davies


Council Member Jerry Slusiewicz
Jerry Slusiewicz
Mayor Pro Tem


Gary Capata.jpg
Gary Capata
Council Member


Council Member Elaine Gennawey
Elaine Gennawey
Council Member

Council Member Fred Minagar
Fred Minagar
Council Member


The City Council consists of five (5) members, elected from the City at-large, who serve four year staggered terms. Annually, the City Council appoints a Mayor and a Mayor Pro Tem from its own membership to serve a one-year term. The Mayor is responsible for presiding over City Council meetings, representing the City Council at various business and ceremonial events, and executing all City ordinances, resolutions and contracts. The Mayor Pro Tem performs these duties in the absence of the Mayor. As a legislative body, the City Council is responsible for the enactment of local laws (ordinances), the adoption of the annual City Budget and Capital Improvement Program, and the review and adoption of proposed policies, agreements, contracts and other City business items.

On June 21, 2016, the City Council appointed former Mayor and City Council Member Gary Capata to fill the vacant Council seat caused by the passing of the Honorable Jerry McCloskey.  With a full Council Chambers and much public discussion, the Council ultimately decided to fill the vacancy with someone that had previous voter support of the citizens of Laguna Niguel, and who did not intend to run for one of the three City Council seats that will be open in the 2016 November elections. Council Member Capata’s term will expire upon the certification of the November 8, 2016 election by the County of Orange and the City of Laguna Niguel.

The City Council appoints the City Manager and City Attorney, as well as the members of the various citizen advisory boards, commissions and ad-hoc committees. 

Contact Us

Mayor and City Council
City of Laguna Niguel
30111 Crown Valley Parkway
Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
Tel: (949) 362-4300
Executive Secretary to Mayor and City Council: Megan Sterling

Meeting Details & Location

The City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at City Hall in Council Chambers.  Click Here for the latest Council Meeting Agenda.

Any person wishing to address the City Council on any matter, whether or not it appears on the Agenda, may do so under the Public Communications portion of the Agenda. Each individual is required to complete a "Request to Speak" form and is allowed 3 minutes to address the Council. No action will be taken on any items not on the Agenda.


City of Laguna Niguel
30111 Crown Valley Parkway
Laguna Niguel, CA 92677
Tel: (949) 362-4300
Fax: (949) 362-4340

A great place to call home.